Dubois County GOP Elects New Officers


                                         Dubois GOP Elects New Officers

            The Dubois County Republican Central Committee met Saturday, March 4, 2017,

to elect officers for the 2017-2021 period.  The re-organization of the party and election of

officers occur every four years.  In addition to the election of officers, a financial report is

presented and resolutions affecting the operations of the party are adopted.

            State Senator Mark Messmer was elected to be the Party Chairman.  Cathy “Kitty”

Merkley was elected Vice-Chairman, Christine Prior will serve as Secretary and Justin Kluemper

will assume the role of Treasurer.  All officers were elected unanimously.  Chairman Messmer

took over from outgoing Chairman, Don Hayes, following the election of officers and conducted

the business meeting.

            The county re-organization is the first step in the re-organization of the Republican Party

from the local to the national level.  County Chairs and Vice-Chairs from the 19 counties in the

8th Congressional District will meet next Saturday, March 11th to elect district officers.  The

District Chairs and Vice-Chairs from Indiana’s nine Congressional districts will meet in

Indianapolis on March 15th to elect State Party Officers.  National Party officers will be elected

next month.

            The Republican Party is a voluntary association of like-minded persons.  To be eligible to

be a Precinct Committeeperson or officer at any level of the party, a person must have voted

in the most recent Republican Primary and be a person in good standing with the party.




Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.